We had a home win in our 2018 Bank of Ireland sponsored Senior Scratch Cup where our own Jason Tobin fired five birdies in a closing 69 to win by two strokes on level par.

It was a one-two-three for Castletroy as Tobin’s excellent final round on a sun-filled, blustery afternoon saw him win from Dean McMahon, who edged out Jack Ryan for second place after a fine 71.

Ryan came out with all guns blazing, carding a four-under 68 in the morning round to lead by two strokes from Fota Island’s Greg O’Mahony with Tralee’s Owen O’Donnell three off the pace after a 71. But he took 10 strokes more in the afternoon round.

West of Ireland champion Robert Brazill struggled to an opening 78 as South of Ireland winner James Sugrue posted a 77.

But while Brazill made a charge in the afternoon, carding a 69 to finish fourth on three-over 147, Tobin showed the field a clean pair of heels.

While he dropped shots at the fourth and the par-three 14th, birdies at the second, seventh, 11th, 12th and 16th gave him a clear-cut victory

1st 144 Jason Tobin (Castletroy) 75 69
2nd 146 Dean McMahon (Castletroy) 75 71 (2nd 18)
3rd 146 Jack Ryan (Castletroy) 68 78
4th 147 Robert Brazill (Naas) 78 69
5th 148 Michael Burke (Galway) 73 75
6th 149 Justin Kehoe (Limerick) 77 72

Best 1st round gross – Greg O’Mahony (Fota Island) 70
Best 2nd round gross – Ben Murray (Waterford Castle) 70

1st Overall nett – Michael O’Friel (Castletroy) 144
2nd Overall nett – Simon Walker (Roscommon) 147

Senior Scratch Cup

Our Senior Scratch Cup, which is, once again kindly sponsored by Bank of Ireland, will take place on Saturday, 26th May.

First competed for in 1948, the Castletroy trophy is one of the oldest and most prestigious scratch cups in the country and attracts the cream of Munster golf and some of Ireland’s best amateur golfers each year.

2017 Senior Scratch Cup Presentation

Last year’s winner was 2017 South of Ireland Champion James Sugrue with rounds of 72 and 69. Former winners include Gary O’Flaherty, Niall Gorey, Eddie McCormack, Mark Shanahan and Alan Thomas, not to mention the illustrious names of JB Carr, Jimmy Breun, Liam Higgins, Vincent Nevin and Des Smyth. Over the years, local golfers such as Eamon Haugh, John Kavanagh, Michael O’Kelly and Peter Sheehan have also lifted this prestigious trophy.

Entries are invited to Castletroy Golf Club at 061335753 ext.1 or golf@castletroygolfclub.ie. The handicap limit is 4 and confined to the lowest 72 entrants. The event is played over 36 holes with gunshot starts at 9:00 am and 2.30pm on the day. The entry fee of €30 includes lunch. Closing date for entries is Thursday, 24th May @ 3.00pm.

You can also contact us using our online form here