2019 Senior Scratch Cup

Castletroy Golf Club scratch cup 25-5-2019
Morgan Whelan, Bank of Ireland presented the Bank of Ireland sponsored Castletroy Golf Club Scratch Cup to James Sugrue, Mallow Golf Club, winner of the competition in the presence of Denis O’Sullivan

Mallow international James Sugrue won the Bank of Ireland sponsored Castletroy Senior Scratch Cup for the second time in three years.

He followed an opening 68 with a one-under 71 to finish on five-under par 139 as Clontarf’s Pat Murray took second on 144 after rounds of 74 and 70 with Kilkenny’s Harry Duggan a shot further back.

1 James Sugrue (Mallow) 139 68 71
2 Pat Murray (Clontarf) 144 74 70
3 Harry Duggan (Kilkenny) 145 73 72
4 Jack Ryan (Castletroy) 146 76 70
5 Simon Walker (Roscommon) 147 75 72 (B18)
6 Jason Tobin (Castletroy) 147 73 74 (B18)
7 Peadar O’Beirne (Athenry 147 72 75
8 Andrew McCormack (Castletroy) 147 72 75
9 Colm O’Donoghue (Castletroy) 148 75 73
10 Dave Carroll (Castletroy) 149 78 71

1st Round gross Patrick Naughton (Limerick) 71
2nd Round gross Dave Carroll (Castletroy) 71

1st Overall Nett Colm O’Donoghue (Castletroy) 140
2nd Overall Nett Peadar O’Beirne (Athenry) 143

Hole In One
Peadar O’Beirne (Athenry)

2019 Scratch Cup Official Launch

Denis O’Sullivan, Captain, Morgan Whelan, Bank of Ireland and Billy Maloney, President of Castletroy Golf Club officially launching the 2019 Bank of Ireland Castletroy Senior Scratch Cup at Castletroy GC, Limerick.

Picture by Michael Cowhey, Limerick Leader

Castletroy Golf Club has announced details of this year’s Senior Scratch Cup, which is, once again kindly and generously sponsored by Bank of Ireland. The competition takes place on Saturday, May 25th.

First competed for in 1948, the Castletroy trophy is one of the oldest and most prestigious scratch cups in the country and attracts the cream of Munster golf and some of Ireland’s best amateur golfers each year. As a Munster Senior Golf “Order of Merit” tournament, results in the Castletroy Senior Scratch Cup are included in the selection criteria for the Munster team in the Senior Golf Interprovincial Series. The course, currently ranked in the top 100 in Ireland and measuring almost 7,000 yards off the back tees, consistently offers a stiff challenge to any player on the senior scratch cup circuit. Last year’s edition was no different with a very impressive fourteen “plus” handicapped golfers and ten “scratch” golfers in the field.

Last year’s winner was, Jason Tobin of the home club with rounds of 75 and 69 strokes. Former winners include James Sugrue, Gary O’Flaherty, Niall Gorey, Eddie McCormack, Mark Shanahan and Alan Thomas, not to mention the illustrious names of JB Carr, Liam Higgins, Vincent Nevin and Des Smyth. Over the years, other local golfers such as Eamon Haugh, John Kavanagh, Michael O’Kelly and Peter Sheehan have also lifted this prestigious trophy.

Entries are invited to Castletroy Golf Club at (061) 335 753 or golf@castletroygolfclub.ie. The handicap limit is 4 and confined to the lowest 72 entrants. Gunshot starts at 9am and 2.30pm on the day. The entry fee of €30 includes lunch. Closing date for entries is 5pm on Thursday, 23rd May.
You can also contact the club through our contact form here