​​Kilkenny’s Mark Power holds a one-shot lead on five under par after an opening round of 65 in the Irish Boys’ Amateur Open Championship at Castle Golf Club.
A winner of the prestigious Peter McEvoy Trophy earlier this season, Kilkenny’s Mark Power is in familiar territory after an opening round of 65 left him top of the leaderboard at the Irish Boys’ Amateur Open.
Power made a blistering start with back-to-back birdies on his opening holes, 11 and 12. Four under through nine, the Kilkenny teenager ended his round in style with a sweet birdie two at the 10th. His five under total of 65 would not be matched for the rest of the day although Rosslare’s John Brady, winner of last week’s Leinster Boys at Mullingar, is within one after a 66.
Brady’s round did not come to life until he reached the 11th. He needed a birdie three at the ninth, one of the most demanding holes on the course, to get back to level par and from there he caught fire. A two at the short 13th completed a hat-trick of birides and like Power, he also signed off in style, picking up another shot at the last.

Co Louth’s Thomas Mulligan reminded everyone of his scoring power with six birdies on the card and he is well placed on three under. Cameron Raymond from Newlands is alongside Mulligan. Raymond shared the lead after the opening round at Tuam last year and he made another bright start with an impressive 67.

France’s Aymeric Laussot is the leading international player on two under and he is sharing fifth place alongside Belvoir Park’s Patrick Brennan, who also carded a 68.​

Among the field of 162 are players from Belgium, The Netherlands, Germany, Spain and Slovakia as well as a 10-strong contingent from England. A 72-hole stroke play event, the top 50 and ties after 54 holes will make it through to the final round.
The Irish Boys Amateur began in 1983, when Jim Carvill of Warrenpoint captured the inaugural event at Curragh Golf Club. Over the years, the Irish Boys has produced its fair share of quality golfers. Names such as Ken Kearney, Damien McGrane, David Higgins, Michael Hoey, and Rory McIlroy have been added to the trophy since then.