Senior Scratch Cup

Our Senior Scratch Cup, which is, once again kindly sponsored by Bank of Ireland, will take place on Saturday, 26th May.

First competed for in 1948, the Castletroy trophy is one of the oldest and most prestigious scratch cups in the country and attracts the cream of Munster golf and some of Ireland’s best amateur golfers each year.

2017 Senior Scratch Cup Presentation

Last year’s winner was 2017 South of Ireland Champion James Sugrue with rounds of 72 and 69. Former winners include Gary O’Flaherty, Niall Gorey, Eddie McCormack, Mark Shanahan and Alan Thomas, not to mention the illustrious names of JB Carr, Jimmy Breun, Liam Higgins, Vincent Nevin and Des Smyth. Over the years, local golfers such as Eamon Haugh, John Kavanagh, Michael O’Kelly and Peter Sheehan have also lifted this prestigious trophy.

Entries are invited to Castletroy Golf Club at 061335753 ext.1 or The handicap limit is 4 and confined to the lowest 72 entrants. The event is played over 36 holes with gunshot starts at 9:00 am and 2.30pm on the day. The entry fee of €30 includes lunch. Closing date for entries is Thursday, 24th May @ 3.00pm.

You can also contact us using our online form here